top of page

Pepperoni

There are times I really enjoy living far away from civilization, and times when it is a real pain. I wanted pepperoni for my pizzas, and didn't have it. So I thought, why not try to make it, we have so much hamburger, and so little lunch meat! I love it, and will for sure do this again. It slices beautifully thin when frozen and using a meat slicer!!

3 lbs hamburger (I think it would be even better to use half ground pork, half hamburger) 2 tbsp smokehouse bbq dip mix 1 tbsp valencian paella dip mix 2 tsp mustard powder 2 tsp Louisiana creole dip mix 1 tsp garlic powder 1 tsp sugar 1 tsp onion powder 4 heaping tsp tender quick

Mix all together. Let sit 24-48 hours. Roll into tight logs, the width you want. Bake at 200 F for 8 hours on a rack in a baking pan (so the fat can drain). Turn periodically. They should be quite dry when done.

This recipe is not very spicy, and I love that you can control the heat level. If you like really spicy pepperoni, double or triple the Louisiana creole amount.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page