top of page

A Year of Birthday Cakes in Review Monday Funday!

I started the "tradition" of making crazy cakes for the kids on their birthday. The first 2 years are my favorite, because I got to pick what to make...think fun, cute, baby animal cakes! But once they hit 3, the kids want to pick their own cakes. Most of the time I am excited to hear their ideas, although sometimes what they want is extremely challenging. I can't lie and say that I try to sway them sometimes!

Burke's birthday comes first in the year, my February baby. He wanted a dinosaur. The kids are obsessed with dinosaurs, especially after our recent visit to Calgary Zoo. Because Burke is still 3, I figured I could make him a cutie baby stegausaurus. I love how it turned out.

And this year the kids started a funny thing about kissing their cakes. And it is so cute, so how can you not share!

Next is Winston. I have a rule I generally follow with the kids...minimal fondant work. I don't cover cakes in fondant, I don't want to mold too much stuff, and I want it to taste good. When Winston asked for a big Daddy dolphin, mommy dolphin and especially a dolphin baby...aka dolphin family cake, I had to break my rule. How else do you make a bunch of dolphins?!? So the fondant sculpting began. And I think it turned out great, and was fun, but I am still not doing that again any time soon!

This cake has my favorite pudding icing on it, so delicious! Not that the kids noticed, they snuck the fondant dolphins! Winston had the huge Daddy dolphin eaten before I could stop him...gross!!

And then there is Raef. While he has to wait the longest to get to his birthday, he is lucky to have a summer one, which means a really fun party outside!

Raef definitely comes up with the most unique ideas for cakes. He loves underwater creatures, and asked for a angler fish this year. That took a lot of googling, and out of the box thinking. But 1 cheap finger light from the dollar store, some soft wire, and live wire candies, and he thought I was the awesomest mom ever! Especially when he saw there was actually a light shinging in the fishes "bait"!

Raef still kissed his cake, but you can see he is doing it under duress. They grow up so fast...sigh.

So there you have it. A year of cakes. I hope you enjoyed a bit of the fun creativity that birthdays offer, and take the chance in your house. Kids are easily impressed! And it is cake, so even if it doesn't turn out, it will taste great.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page