top of page

Caramel Spiced Pear Butter


I love my plants and my trees. I think it is in my genes, my grandpa was born not with just a green thumb, but green fingers and toes. But my orchard especially is like my babies. I have spent many hours watering them, worrying over them, hoping they will grow and multiply. I pick and squish disgusting worms off of them, and cry when the frost takes their babies, or the heavy snow breaks them off.

So it was my utter delight this year that 2 of my trees actually produced pears! Beautiful baby pears. I didn't want to pick them. And when I finally had to, I needed something really spectacular to use them for. And let me tell you, this pear butter is amazing!!

I have never seen a recipe like this that uses caramel to partially sweeten a "jam", but I am totally using this technique in my applesauce next year. It is really amazing. And the coconut caramelised spiced rum balsamic vinegar is divine in there!!

8 cups purreed pears (takes about 15 regular sized pears. Core and cook down with a bit of water til soft, and then blend until very smooth).

6 c sugar

1 tbsp YIAH Pumpkin Pie Spice

3 tbsp Coconut Caramelised Spiced Rum Balsamic Vinegar

Warm pear puree in a large pot.

In a frying pan, heat 1 1/2 cups of sugar, and melt until all sugar is liquid and forms a golden caramel.

Pour directly into the pear puree.

The caramel will sizzle and harden, but will dissolve again as the preserves heat. Add the remaining 4 1/2 c sugar and spice. Cook, uncovered, until thick and caramel is dissolved, about 20 minutes, stirring frequently. Add balsamic vinegar when taking off the heat. Bottle in 1/2 pint jars.

They should seal from the heat of the preserves. If not, process in boiling water for 15 minutes.

This is a very thick spread, and so delicious just on fresh bread with butter.

But how amazing would this be on top of brie, or in a cheesecake, or as the bottom layer in a tart. You will want to keep this only for yourself and maybe your bestest of friends, it is that good!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page