top of page

Sweet and Tangy Doritos Coleslaw

Who has a lot of cabbage right now, raise your hand! Well, technically, I personally don't, but I have a lovely family that continues to gift me with cabbage, which I appreciate, really. I do. Really.

So that means cabbage is now on the menu, and since it seems to bother my new nephew, my sister in law is not pulling her cabbage eating weight. Luckily for me, she introduced us to this coleslaw recipe, and we fell in love. The secret ingredient....doritos. Yes, you heard right. It is magically fantastic. The best is cool ranch, but nacho works in a pinch. Trust me, your family will love it, and you will go through that cabbage in no time.

The second reason this coleslaw is the best is because it uses my new favorite spice, Aussie Works Burger. It is seriously amazing, with powered balsamic vinegar powder, powered smoked pineapple, powdered beet, lime, tomato and a hint of cayenne, just to name a few. Makes the perfect sweet and tangy dressing. When you first mix it up it is pink, which I think is super pretty, but the color fades as it soaks into the coleslaw, so the boys won't be freaked out.

1 c light mayo

1/2 c greek yogurt

1/4 c sugar or honey

2 tsp Aussie Works Burger Spice

2 tbsp Apricot Ginger balsamic vinegar

1 tsp aussie lemon pepper specialy salt

1/2 to 1 head of cabbage, sliced very fine

3-4 large carrots, grated

1-2 cups grated cheese (cheddar is what I used)

1 bag of cool ranch doritos, crunched (I only had nacho this time, so that is what I used)

Whisk the first six ingredients in the bottom of the bowl.

Add the veggies and cheese, and toss. Right before serving, add in the chips, so they don't get soggy. This is a large family sized salad, half everything if you want smaller portions.

And if you are looking for an amazing coleslaw to go with your pulled pork, leave out the chips and cheese, add in a apple, chopped small, and this one pairs deliciously.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page