top of page

The BEST Taco Salad

This salad is a legend. Growing up, everyone made this taco salad. Going to a branding...get taco salad. Church potluck, get taco salad. Want to impress someone, make taco salad! Imagine my surprise when I found out there were many many other methods of making taco salad. This is still my favorite though! #foodywithfamily

YIAH fajita spice is a star here. Tastes similar to the grocery brand, but without the huge amount of sodium (so I can add as much salt as I want), no fillers, and lots more flavor. How exciting is that!

We eat this salad often, the boys love it, and eat multiple bowls. I will have to quadruple it when they are teens!

1 lb ground beef/chicken/turkey 1 onion, chopped 2 tsp aussie lemon pepper (this stuff is delish!)

Fry together. When hamburger is done, add 2 tsp YIAH Fajita spice and mix. Put in bowl in fridge and let cool.

In the meantime, chop: 1 green pepper 1/2 red/yellow/orange bell pepper 3 or more tomatoes any other veggie you want. I sometimes add avocado, celery, even corn.

Add to cooled meat, as well as 1 can drained, rinsed black beans, and 1-2 cups shredded cheese.

I have always (and forever) used 1 whole bottle of catalina/california dressing. This makes the best tasting salad (heehee). But lots of people use different things, and I have even seen some putting salsa in too! They are all good, but not as good as this. Once you get all that dressing out, mix well.

Now add at least 1 whole head of lettuce, and mix again. You can scrunch up a bag of taco chips (I like to use nacho doritos) and mix in, but I add the tortilla chips in individual bowls, as we do still have some leftovers of this salad right now, and if you add the nachos in right away, they will get soggy.

That's it! Enjoy. Great for those hot summer days, or even cool spring and fall ones. And feel free to bring it to any potluck I am attending.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page