top of page

Kale Chips

Growing up, I never ate kale. I didn't know what kale was. I know, that makes me seem old, doesn't it. When I met my husband, one of the first things his family introduced me to is kale. They were lovers. Fresh, canned, frozen, whatever form you can get it. They eat it in a traditional dutch dish called stampot. Yes, this is really a thing, we ate it in a "dutch" restaurant in Amsterdam! Anyway, this isn't about stampot, it is about kale. Now it is a staple in our garden, and I love it. Mostly because it is easily grown, and easily stored. Just crunch it in a bag, and freeze. Voila!

Kale chips have also become a favorite. Below is the easy and delicious method I use. I haven't done it in the oven yet, but you can!

Kale Chips

Ever since getting the flavored EVOO's I have been dying to make some more kale chips. Well, they were stupendous! YIAH makes it so easy to make delicious, flavorful kale chips!

Coat kale with flavored EVOO and salt lightly. I tried it with Wild Lime and Provence. You don't need hardly any oil. For about 8 cups of kale leaves, you only need about 1/2 tsp oil. I used Aussie Lemon Pepper salt with the Wild Lime EVOO, and Saffron salt with the Provence EVOO. Don't salt too much, it intensifies as it dries.

Put a handful of kale on chip tray. Micro 1 min. Spread out kale.

Micro approx 2 more min, until crispy. And you are done! And they were both very tasty.

You can make these in the oven. I have never done that, I just make them in the microwave. It takes 3 minutes on a chip tray (made by pampered chef, epicure, and I think in canadian tire and home hardware). Microwave time will depend on your microwave.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page